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RULE 650-X-4-.01 Education Requirements.

(1} The trainee must successfully complete 480 hours of basic training at an approved
academy. _

(2) The trainee must satisfactorily complete the law enforcement training course within the
time set forth in the statutory requirement of the Code of Alabama, Title 36-21-46.

(3} In order to successfully complete the law enforcement training course and be certified by
the Commission, the trainee must achieve the following:

(a) An overall score of not less than 70% on written exams,

(b) Pass the first aid exam with a score of not less than 70% (Any re-test, if necessary, shall
be administered within 72 hours.),

(c) Pass the legal issues exam with a score of not less than 70% (Any re-test, if necessary,
shall be administered within 72 hours.),

(d) Pass the physical agility/ability test (Any re~test, if necessary, shall be administered within
48 to 72 hours.),

(e) Pass 43 hours of firearms training and qualify two of three attempts on the firearms course.
A minimum score of seventy (70) is required to pass each attempt

(1) If a trainee does not pass ANY of the three (3) qualification atiempts then the trainee is
deemed to have failed the Academy and is barred from employment and certification as a law
enforcement officer for two years.

(2) Any trainee who passes one of the three attempts, but fails to pass twice, will be
allowed, at the written request of the employing Agency, to attend the next available academy to
re-take the forty three (43) hours of firearms training and qualification (provided the trainee
passes all other phases of the academy session and does not exceed the statutory six {6) month
provisional appointment time). If the trainee fails to pass firearms training at this point, the
trainee is deemed to have failed the Academy and is barred from employment and certification as
a law enforcement officer for two years.

() Trainees shall not be absent more than 5% of the required training hours,
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(4) The trainee shall comply with all rules and regulations promulgated by the Commission.

(5) The trainee in addition to complying with the Commission's rules and regulations shall
comply with all rules and regulations promulgated by the academy.

Authority: Code of Alabama 1975, §36-21-40, §36-21-51.

Effective Date: September 29, 1983. Amended: June 12, 1995. Amended: May 9, 1997.

Amended: February 4, 1999. Amended: January 1, 2006.

RULE 650-X-4-.02 Employment Requirements. The applicant must be gainfully employed as a
law enforcement officer by a law enforcement agency at the time of histher application to the
academy. Prior to certification, the applicant shall complete the required course of training
established by the commission. An applicant may be provisionally appointed for a period of six
months. No individual may be employed for an additional period until that individual is certified by
the commission.

Authority: Code of Alabama 1975, §36-21-40, §36-21-51.

Effective Date: September 29, 1983. Amended: June 12, 1995. Amended: May 9, 1997.

RULE 650-X-4-.03 Waiver for Lateral Entry Equivalency Training.

(1) The Commission may waiver the completion of any course required by Rule 650-X-4-.01
of the regulations upon presentation of documentary evidence by a department that a gainfully
employed (full-itme or part-time) officer has received equivalent training in another jurisdiction or
through federal, or department of defense law enforcement experience.

(a) If a law enforcement agency has a properly established and bonafide law enforcement
reserve program, and if a duly appointed reserve officer is qualified and commissioned with the
power of arrest, then the Chief Law Enforcement Officer may submit a letter of request to the
Commission requesting the reserve officer be considered for Waiver of Lateral Entry Equivalence
training. Reserve law enforcement officers who are approved for this training will be admitted to
the refresher training program on a space available status only and may not occupy a position in the
class if participation prevents a gainfully employed law enforcement officer from attending.

(b} Any reserve law enforcement officer who attends this program must be covered by
Workers Compensation Insurance,

(2) The Commission will review the documentation of equivalent training presented by the
department and use a point system, as described later in this rule, to determine if comparative
compliance is achieved.

(3) If equivalency training is approved, the officer will qualify to attend an 80 hour Law
Enforcement Officer Refresher Course to equate previous training with current standards.

(4) Equivalency of Training Point System. For the purpose of determining equivalency of
training, the terms listed below shall have the following meaning and values:

(a) Experience: The total; number of years the applicant has been employed full time as a
law enforcement officer since completing an enfry level basic police training course.

(b) Education: An academic title awarded by a post-secondary institution which is accredited
by a state certification board or commission and authorized to award such degrees.

() Equivalency: Achieved by:
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(1) An applicant being Certified or licensed as a law enforcement officer in another State, by
the Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission of that State, and whose Certification is
valid and in good standing, and who meets all other requirements for lateral entry equivalency
training as outlined in these Rules. Applicant must have a minimum of one (1) year experience as a
gainfully employed, full time law enforcement officer and must not have a break in service of more
than two (2) years following separation of employment as a law enforcement officer in said state.
Or;

(2) By an applicant obtaining a total of ten or more points based on the following schedule;
of which, each applicant will be awarded the maximum number of points that he/she qualifies for in
each of the three categories:

Years of full-time Law Enforcement Experience:
Less than one (1)
One (1) to five (5) years
Five years, 1 day, to 10 years
Ten years, 1 day, to 15 years
Fifteen years, 1 day, to 20 years
Twenty years and one day or more

N OO I O L O

Basic Police Training

less than 280 hours
280 hours - 319 hours
320 hours - 479 hours
480 hours - 639 hours
640 hours - 800 hours
801 hours - 959 hours
960 hours or more

oV R S

Post-secondary Degrees
Associate Degree
Bachelor Degree
Masters Degree or above 3
(correspondence courses not accepted)

b —

(5) Eligibility. An applicant who is Certified in another State and who meets the requircments
of Equivalency as outlined in section (4)(c)(1) of this Rule is deemed eligible. All other applicant’s
requesting lateral entry to the law enforcement field in Alabama must meet the following
requirements:

(a) Military Police Applicant. Be a graduate of a formal Military Police "Law Enforcement”
Basic Police Training Course. Must have been performing duties in a law enforcement function the
last four years prior to separation and must not have a break in service in excess of two (2) years
following military separation.

(b} Federal Law Enforcement Applicant. Be a graduate of a formal Federal Law Enforcement
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Basic Police Training Course. Must have been performing duties in a law enforcement function the
last four years prior to separation from Federal Service and must not have a break in service in
excess of two (2) years following Federal Service separation.

(c) The following applicants will not be considered for eligibility:

(1) Applicants who do not meet APOSTC standards for certification.

(2) Applicants who have been "Grandfathered” or "exempted" from training,

(3) Applicants whose certification has been suspended or revoked.

(4) Applicants who have a primary Security Police occupational code.

(6) Refresher Course. Those applicants who have received an acceptable evaluation of their
experience, education, and training are required to attend an eighty (80) hour refresher training
course to be conducted at an assigned regional academy. The general curriculum will be
developed and updated as needed by a committee of Academy Directors and approved by the
Alabama Peace Officers Standards and Training Commission. This training course will be
rotated among the regional academies. A minimum of one course (if there is a sufficient number
of applicants) will be conducted each calendar year. No credit will be given for a partially
completed training course. Trainees shall not be absent more than 5% of the required training
hours. The following mandated subjects must be passed. Any traince who fails to pass (a), (b), (¢)
or (d) shall be required to attend the 480 hour basic Academy,

{a) An overall academic average of not less than 70%.

{b) Pass the legal issues exam with a score of not less than 70%.

(c) Pass the defensive driving course with a score of not less than 70%.

(d) Pass the physical agility test.

(e) Pass two of three attempts on the firearms course. A minimum score of seventy (70) is
required to pass each attempt.

(1) If a trainee does not pass ANY of the three (3) qualification attempts then the trainee is
deemed to have failed the Academy and is barred from employment and certification as a law
enforcement officer for two years.

(2) Any trainee who passes one of the three attempts, but fails to pass twice, will be
allowed, at the writien request of the employing Agency, to attend the next available academy to
take the forty three (43) hours of firearms training and qualification (provided the trainee passes
all other phases of the academy session and does not exceed the statutory six (6) month
provisional appointment time). If the trainee fails to pass firearms training at this point, the
trainee is deemed to have failed the Academy and is barred from employment and certification as
a law enforcement officer for two years.

() Applicant must present proof of CPR Training prior to admission to the course.

(7) Definitions:

(a) Law Enforcement Officer: One who is responsible for the prevention and detection of
crime and the enforcement of the criminal, traffic, or highway laws of the State of Alabama. A full-
time federal or military law enforcement officer who has powers of arrest, authority to carry a
firearm, and is classified by their agency in a law enforcement position.

(b) Basic Police Training Course: A basic course recognized by a state commission, state
board, or agency which leads to licensing or certification as a law enforcement officer; or a basic
course sponsored by the federal government for its law enforcement officers; or a basic course
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conducted by the Department of Defense for personnel classified as law enforcement personnel
under their military specialty codes, i.c., Military Occupation Code (MOS), Air Force Specialty
Code (AFSC).

(8) Procedures:

(a) All commission procedures applicable to certification of newly employed officers must be
followed when applying for Lateral Entry.

(b) The employer must complete the required application forms in duplicate, and provide
certified true copies of law enforcement training and training curriculums provided in the training
of the applicant.

(¢) The applicant will arrange for the post-secondary schools, colleges, and universities to
forward a certified true copy of post-secondary degrees earned, to the Peace Officers Standards and
Training Commission.

Authority: Code of Alabama 1975, §36-21-40, §36-21-51.

Effective Date: September 29, 1983. Amended: June 12, 1995. Amended: May 9, 1997.

Amended: May 5, 1999. Amended: September 5, 2000. Amended: September 13, 2000.

Amended: July 18, 2001. Amended: January 1, 2006. Amended: June 28, 2007.

RULE 650-X-4-.04 Failure to Complete Training. Should a traince fail academically or
physically, the hiring agency may request that the trainee be allowed to attend another session. An
applicant is eligible for two attempts of completion of the academy. If an applicant fails the
academy twice, the applicant is ineligible to attend an academy for a period of two years from the
date of failure of the second academy attempt. If, after two years, the applicant is again employed as
a law enforcement officer, a new application package is required. This does not exempt the
applicant from Rule 650-X-2-.01.

Authority: Code of Alabama 1975, §36-21-40, §36-21-51.

Effective Date: September 29, 1983. Amended June 12, 1995. Amended: February 4, 1999,

RULE 650-X-4-.05 Withdrawal from School. A {rainee who is failing the course of study may
withdraw and re-enter school only in hardship or emergency situations.

Authority: Code of Alabama 1975, §36-21-40, §36-21-51.

Effective Date: September 29, 1983.

RULE 650-X-4-.06 Repealed.
RULE 650-X-4-.07 Repealed.

RULE 650-X-4-.08 Repealed.

Authority: Code of Alabama 1975, §36-21-40, §36-21-51.

Effective Date: October 29, 1980. Amended: June 12, 1995. Amended: May 9, 1997.
Repealed: April 4, 2005.
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